Obey Rather Than Sacrifice

Hosea 6:6 For I delight in loyalty rather than sacrifice, And in the knowledge of God rather than burnt offerings.

God has no delight when we play church.  He is disgusted when we go through motions and repeat our rituals.  He hates our religious games.  God is after a relationship with You and me.  We please Him by obeying Him, not by fulfilling religious rituals.  God gets nothing out of meaningless sacrifices.  It is a waste of time and effort to Him.

God desires for us to truly know Him.  We are to be like a couple newly in love, thinking about the other and desiring to know them better.  God wants us to spend time alone with Him, seeking to know Him better.  He desires our company and wants us to desire His company.  When is the last time you got alone with God?  I know it has been a while for me.  Seek to spend time alone with Him soon.  Read His Word, pray and talk to Him.  Have a date with Jesus.

He delights in us obeying Him and getting to know Him better.

Dear Lord, forgive me for wasting time and spending it with You.  Help me spend my time wisely.  Help me to obey You and seek to know You better.  Thank you for Your patience with me.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

