God’s People

Hosea 2:23 “I will sow her for Myself in the land. I will also have compassion on her who had not obtained compassion, And I will say to those who were not My people, ‘You are My people!’ And they will say, ‘You are my God!’ “

Hosea was called to be a prophet of God.  Sometimes God gave His prophets roles to play as they prophesied for Him.  Their lives were witnesses to His message.  Hosea’s role to play was a husband to a cheating wife.  He was like God and his wife Gomer was like Israel who cheated on God.  Israel thought they were being blessed by idols, but it was really God who was taking care of them and providing for them.

God chose to have compassion on them.  He also chose to have compassion on us, who were not His people.  When we accept Jesus as our Savior, God has compassion on us and we become His people.  He watches overs us and provides for us.  We had no claim to God, but now we do.  All because of what Jesus has done.  Hosea’s wife cheated on Him and he welcomed her back.  When we sin, we cheat on God and yet He welcomes us back in.  Praise be to God!

Dear God, I thank you for the adoption into Your family.  I had no claim to You, but You had compassion on me.  Forgive when I stray and help me to stay loyal to You.  For You alone are the One who takes care of me.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

