Wait and Trust

Proverbs 20:22 Do not say, “I will repay evil “; Wait for the LORD, and He will save you.

Human nature is strike back when stricken.  It is not our nature to willingly turn the other cheek, for when humiliated when we do.  Our nature is stand and fight.  To give back as good as we have gotten.  This is not what God calls us to do.  He tells us to wait on Him and to trust in Him while we do.  God promises to repay the evil done to us, only He does not always do it on the time-table of our liking.  This is where waiting and trusting come in.  We are to always respond with kindness to all people.  I do not know about you, but that is something I struggle with.  I do not want to be kind to those who are not kind to me.

In Romans, Paul tells us to leave room for God’s wrath, for God promises to take vengeance for us.  Jesus tells us to turn the other cheek and go the extra mile for our enemies.  God’s way is much different from our way.  God’s way is much better than our way.  We are much better off doing things His way than ours.  When we trust God, we turn the burden of revenge over to Him.  We are not stressed out over the situation, because we are trusting in Him.  He carries the burden and we do not.  We are much better off.

Dear God, help me to leave room for you to act.  Help me to leave vengeance to You and just wait and trust in You when I am wronged.  It is totally against my nature.  I need help to do things Your way.  For Your way is the best.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

