A Discrete Man

Proverbs 19:11 A man’s discretion makes him slow to anger, And it is his glory to overlook a transgression.

Most of us men are not patient at all.  I know I have times where anger builds rapidly like boiling water and steam comes out.  This is not the way a discrete man acts.  He is slow to anger.  He lets things go and does not let them get to him nor build up.  He deals with the small stuff quickly and does not hold grudges.  He is quick to forgive and move on.  He offers grace to those who offend him.

Our model of a discrete man is Jesus.  He encompasses all of these characteristics.  He forgave those who were killing Him.  He forgave the thief, who only minutes before was mocking Him.  He also put up with the Chief Priests mocking and insulting Him.  He was beaten for no reason and did not lash out.  Soldiers and others beat Him and spit on Him and He endured it.  If that was me, my anger would have burned and earth would have been destroyed.  One of the million reasons I am thankful that I am not God.  Jesus endured all of this and more, because He loved us.  He did what He needed to do in order to forgive us.  God now overlooks our transgressions when we come to Him by faith.

As Christians our goal everyday should be to be more like Him and less like me.  As John the Baptist so appropriately said, “He must increase and I must decrease.  That should be your prayer and my prayer daily.

Dear God, help me to be more like You.  Help me to be discrete and forgive others.  Help me to not hold grudges against them.  You are my model, Oh Lord Jesus.  Help me to allow You to increase in me everyday.  Help me to be more like You.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

