Do Not Be A Fool

Proverbs 1:7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; Fools despise wisdom and instruction.

Who wants to be wise?  Most of us do, right?  Nobody sets out to be a fool, but there a lot of fools in this world.  They think they know everything about everything.  Ask them a question, they are sure to believe they know the answer, when they really do not.  This month we will be going through the Book of Proverbs.  It is a book of wisdom, written by one of the smartest man of all time.  I man full of wisdom, yet died a fool.  We will learn from Solomon, both from his wisdom and from him becoming a fool at the end of his life.

Both Psalms 14 and 53 start our with God’s definition of a fool.  “A fool has said in his heart, ‘There is no God'”.  God defines a fool as somebody who does not believe in Him or His law.  A fool is somebody who totally rejects God.  When Solomon became king, God appeared to him in a dream.  God told Solomon to ask for one thing and he would receive it.  Solomon asked for wisdom and discernment, in order to be a good leader.  Solomon was humble and knew how big of a task it was going to be to lead the people.  God gave him great wisdom and he became the smartest man in the world.  He became wise because he feared God and knew he needed God’s help.  He was humble.  As Solomon aged, he lost that humility.  In fact at the of his life, he became a fool.  He married a ton of women, including foreign women.  They led him away from God and Solomon rejected God’s wisdom and instruction.  How foolish he was!  He stopped fearing God and being humble before Him.

I do not care what your IQ is, if you reject God you are a fool.  If you reject God’s instruction, you are a fool.  We need to come before God, with a humble attitude, fearing Him.  Either we humble ourselves before God or God will humble us before Him.  Trust me, we do not want God to humble us.  We need to check our attitude every day, making sure we are fearing God and listening to His wisdom and instruction.  When we fail to do so, we are foolish.

Dear God, help me to have the right attitude every day.  Help me to be humble before You.  Help me to have listening ears and open heart to Your wisdom and instructions.  Forgive me of my pride and arrogance, that makes me act in a foolish way.  Teach me, O God!  Instruct me, Lord!  Thank you for Your patience with our foolish ways.  Thank you for loving me, even though I am a fool at times.  You are so wise and so awesome.  There is nobody like You!  Even Solomon is wisest days, is no match for You.  I have so much to learn from You, O God.  Help me not to forget that, but to remember that daily I need to learn from You.  The fear of You is only the beginning of wisdom, I have so much to learn from You.  Help me, I pray.   In Your awesome name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

