Search Me

Psalm 139:23-24
23 Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me and know my anxious thoughts; 24 And see if there be any hurtful way in me, And lead me in the everlasting way.

David asks God to search him and to know his heart.  He is not asking God to do this for God’s benefit, instead it is for David’s.  David wants God to search out His heart and to reveal the flaws to David.  He asking God so that he can know what areas of his life he needs to work on.  Areas which we needs to pray about and seek God about.  David knows that he has flaws and David knows that he needs God to help him overcome the flaws.

He was afraid to ask God to know him intimately, because David knew God already knew him and He still loved him.  God knows all of our flaws.  He knows the areas of our lives, where we struggle to live a Holy life.  He knows where we fall short.  God already knows all of that and yet He still loves us.  Jesus knew all about our sin, before He came to die for our sins and He still came.  God loves you and God loves me.  He cannot stand our sin, but He loves us as a person.  He wants us to submit to Him and allow Him to work on our flaws.  His will is for us to overcome our sin, in order for Him to get the glory.

There are questions we need to ask ourselves.  Have you fully submitted your life to Him?  Do you trust Him with all areas of your life?  Is there a sin, you think you are hiding from Him?  Have you asked Him to be your Savior?

These are questions we need to ask ourselves.  Pray to God and ask Him to search you and to reveal to you areas you need to work on.  Ask Him to lead you in the everlasting way.

Dear Jesus, I thank You that You died for me with full knowledge of my sin.  I thank you that You loved me enough anyway.  Thank you that You know us, inside and out.  We cannot hide anything from You.  Reveal to me any areas Lord where I fall short.  Help me to fully submit to You and allow You to direct my life.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

