Wait for The Lord

Psalm 130:5-6
5 I wait for the LORD, my soul does wait, And in His word do I hope. 6 My soul waits for the Lord More than the watchmen for the morning; Indeed, more than the watchmen for the morning.

Waiting is not something that comes naturally to me.  I struggle with being patient.  I like things to happen on my timing.  Yet, this is not what happens with God.  God tells us we need to wait on Him.  Our culture is not good with this.  We want everything solved in 30 minutes or maybe an hour tops.  God does not work that way.  He moves on His timing, not ours.  This means we might be ill for years, until God does something.  It means that when we dig a hole, God does not always pull us out when we want out.  God has stuff to teach us and we need to learn our lesson.

Patience is one of the attributes of the fruit of spirit.  God wants His fruit grown with it.  He likes the taste of patience in His fruit.  He cultivates it in us, which means we must learn to trust in Him, when we are going through tough times.  Trust does not mean, saying a few words in prayer.  It means that we are relying on Him for our very existence.  That kind of trust and patience takes time to cultivate.  It is hard during those times, but it is worth it.  God will see us through those hard times.

Dear God, I thank you for Your patience with me.  You could have given up on me a while ago, but You stick by my side.  You cultivate in me, exactly what I need.  Help me to trust in You and fully rely on You.  Deliver through the hard times, but first help me learn the lessons You have for me.  Even though the time is hard, it is worth it.  You have my best in mind.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

