Wasted Effort

Psalm 127:1 Unless the LORD builds the house, They labor in vain who build it; Unless the LORD guards the city, The watchman keeps awake in vain.

If you do not involve God in your plans, all of your planning is in vain.  It is God who chooses to bless your plans and work.  We waste our effort, if we do something God is not in.  No matter how much effort we put in, it is futile without God.  Solomon says our efforts are in vain.  God wants us to include Him in our plans.  He wants us to seek Him for His wisdom.  He wants us to seek His counsel on the matter.

I remember installing my kids car seats when they were babies.  I could not get them tight.  I pulled and yanked but it stayed loose.  I put a dowel in the loop of the strap, but only accomplished lifting the car.  The seat was still loose.  It was so frustrating!  Then I saw  a video of somebody putting some weight on the seat to tighten it.  So I climbed into the seat and pulled on the strap and it tightened right up.  Without my weight on the seat, my effort was in vain.  No matter what I did, the seat would not tighten.  However, when I added me weight to it, I was able to accomplish it.  Having God involved in what we are doing is like that.  He puts His weight down and we are able to do what we need to do.  Without Him, we do not accomplish what we try, not matter the effort put in.  Lean the lesson and include God in your plans and work.

This is also true of our salvation.  If we think we can work it our on our own, we are wasting our effort.  Apart from Jesus’ work on the cross, no one can be saved.  Only by the love and grace of God are we forgiven.  Do not be foolish and think you can work your way to God.  It is in vain.  Seek His grace and mercy.  That is the only way.

Dear God, without You are effort is vain.  It is a wasted effort.  Without You, I whither, but with You I flourish.  A vine cannot grow, if it is not connected.  Help me to be connected to You.  Give me wisdom to not waste effort.  Help me to work smart, by seeking You first.  Thank you for loving me and helping me.  Thank you for saving me, by Your amazing grace.  I could never work my way to Heaven.  It is only by You we are saved.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

