My Help

Psalm 121:1-2
1 I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; From where shall my help come? 2 My help comes from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth.

We all have times when we feel in despair.  We feel like we do not have neither hope nor help.  But God is there.  He is our help and that gives us hope.  He is the creator of all, nothing is too difficult for Him.  No matter where we are, what situation we are in, God can help.  There is nothing to difficult for God.

When life is hard, look to God for help.  Lift up your eyes and look for Him.  He promises to help His children.  He will, because God keeps His promises.  Do not lose heart.  Do not fret.  For the maker of all is near and He will help you.  No matter what bad thing might happen to you, remember that God is greater than anything else.  If He is on our side, nothing can hurt us.  The Psalmist goes on to say that He will keep your foot firm and not let it slip.  Again this does not mean bad things will not happen, but it does mean that God will be our help through the bad times.  Trust in Him!

Dear God, I thank you that You are my help.  You do not leave me without hope.  Thank you for Your promises.  Thank you for always keeping Your word.  If You were not my help, I would be lost.  If You were not my hope, I would be in despair.  But thankfully You are both!  Thank you for that Oh God!  Amen.

Update:  I was thinking about this passage on my way to work this morning.  I believe the mountain in the verse represents our problems.  Our problem sometimes can seem like a mountain before us, which we must climb to get through to the other side.  Some problems seem overwhelming, like it will be almost impossible to overcome them.  The Psalmist is saying that nothing is impossible with God.  He can help us through any and all situations.  He is our help and we need to trust Him, because He knows the right way to take for our good and His glory!

Leave a Reply

