Revive Me

Psalm 119:88 Revive me according to Your lovingkindness, So that I may keep the testimony of Your mouth.

We all need God to revive us, to give us a new vigor for serving Him and following His way.  God needs to breath new life and strength into our walk.  All of the great revivals we have had in this country started with a few people renewing their walk with God.  Like a fire their commitment burn wildly in a dry area.  It consumed all who it came upon and spread quickly.  It said of a rival in Welsh, that the working mules did not understand the workers any more, because their filthy language was gone.  God had totally changed them really quickly.

It is by God’s lovingkindness that we are revived.  Only by the grace of God is it possible.  The same is true of keeping God’s laws.  Our sinful nature goes against the nature God wants for us.  It leads us to sin and death, but God wants us to have a nature of Holiness and life.  We need God to work in our lives to lead us to follow Him.  His Spirit lives in us, convicting us and guiding us.  It is a battle from within and daily we need God’s help.  He, because of His lovingkindness, will revive us each day to live for Him.  We must just choose to follow Him.  Jesus described this well.  He said we must daily deny ourselves and take up our cross and follow Him (Matthew 16:24).  Daily we must lay down our sinful desires and pick up Godly desires.  It is daily fight.

Thank you, Oh God, for showing lovingkindness to me.  I do not deserve it.  I deserve eternal punishment for my sins, but You saved me.  You pursued me and guided me to You.  You came and paid the price for my sin on the cross.  Lord Jesus, help to become less of me and more of You.  As John said “He must increase and I must decrease”.  Revive me, Oh God, that I may follow You.  Grow my trust in You and help me to deny myself and follow You.  It is all about You Jesus, not about me.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

