God Provides

Psalm 104:10-11
10 He sends forth springs in the valleys; They flow between the mountains; 11 They give drink to every beast of the field; The wild donkeys quench their thirst.

Every stream has a place that begins, usually a spring in the ground.  Growing up, my grandparents had a stream in a park, near their house.  We always had a fun time playing in it and around it.  My grandpa took us on a walk one time to try and find the spring.  We walked a long way but never found it.  God causes those springs to bring forth water.  Why?  So that the animals may have something to drink.  God takes care of them.  He provides for them.

He does the same for you and me.  God provides for our needs.  I was talking to my 5 year old daughter today about needs and wants.  I was pleasantly surprised that she could tell me the difference.  I told her knowing was the easier part, applying the knowledge was the difficult part.  It is easy to say, ‘I don’t need that cookie, but it is not always easy to not eat that cookie.

God promises to meet our needs, not our wants.  He blesses us and allows us to have some of our wants, but not all of the time.  He wants us to have self control.  He does promise to meet our needs.  To provide enough to take care of us.  That is what He did for the Israelites in the desert.  He provided water to drink and and manna to eat every day.  He made it so that their clothes did not wear out.  He took care of them, and He will take care of us.

Thank you Lord, for providing for my needs.  Thank you for taking care of me.  For being the Good Shepherd and watching over me.  Help me to have self control and know and apply the difference between a want and a need.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

