Worthless

Psalm 101:3-4
3 I will set no worthless thing before my eyes; I hate the work of those who fall away; It shall not fasten its grip on me. 4 A perverse heart shall depart from me; I will know no evil

As Christians, we are supposed to get rid of the garbage in our lives.  These things give us no benefit in our walk with Jesus.  They only bring us down and pull us away from God.  We need to shed them or they will hinder us.  They cause our hearts to be perverse and filled with sinful ways.

In the classic book, Pilgrim’s Progress, the character Christian goes on a long journey, carrying a heavy burden, which hinders him as he goes.  When he finally arrives at the cross, the burden falls off and he is free from it.  The garbage we have in our lives as Christians is like picking that burden back up and needlessly carrying it once again.  Jesus died to remove this burden from us, that we can be free from sin.  We must not tie ourselves to our once we are free.  Doing so is dumb and very hurtful in our walk.  In Proverbs, this is compared to dog returning to its vomit.  Do not return to your vomit!

Dear God, I thank you for sending Your Son, Jesus, to die for my sin.  I thank you for freeing me from it.  Help me not to be dumb and return to it.  Help me to live in victory and not defeat.  You have won the victory!  Amen.

Leave a Reply

