Son of David

Psalm 89:3-4
3 “I have made a covenant with My chosen; I have sworn to David My servant, 4 I will establish your seed forever and build up your throne to all generations.”

God promised David that he would have a son on his throne forever.  While Solomon, his son, reigned in his father’s place, the promised son was Jesus Christ, the Son of God.  Both of Jesus’ parents were part of the line of David.  Jesus will one day sit on David’s throne and rule for ever and ever.  There will be no end to His Kingdom.

What a promise God made to David!  David received it with humility.  He was an awe of all that God had done for him.  God took him out of the pasture and made him king over all of Israel.  During David’s reign, Israel’s territory grew leaps and bounds.  God was faithful to David during his life and God will be faithful to the promise He made to David.  The human line of David came to end, when Judah fell to Babylon, after many years of faithless living.  It will be restored one day to the Faithful One.  Come soon Lord Jesus!

Dear God, I thank you for Your faithfulness.  I thank you that one day Your promise to David will be fulfilled.  I thank you that King Jesus will reign for ever and ever.  I cannot wait for that day!  Again I say, come soon King Jesus!  Amen.

One thought on “Son of David

  1. Pingback: Memorizing wonderfully 31 Son of David and God’s Kingdom – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

Leave a Reply

