My Rock

Psalm 71:3 Be to me a rock of habitation to which I may continually come; You have given commandment to save me, For You are my rock and my fortress.

A rock, in this context is a safe place where a person is safe from their enemies.  Kind of like when kids play tag and they say they cannot be tagged when they are touching something.  So when read the Psalmist talking about God being their rock, they mean that God is a safe place where they are protected from evil.  David, when he was being hunted by King Saul, had caves he would hide in and Saul could not find him.  God is our safe place in times of trouble.

When things go bad we need to run to God, not to anything else to solve our problem or cope with it.  Nothing else will satisfy or gives us peace.  Do not run anywhere but into the arms of a loving God.  This is a lesson I need to learn better.  I am sure this is a lesson we all need to learn better.

Dear God, thank you for being a safe place that we can run.  Thank you for loving me enough to keep me safe.  Help me to run to You and You alone in times of trouble.  Thank you for being there at all times.  Thank you for being a strong hold, which the enemy cannot pierce.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

