Good

Mark 10:18 And Jesus said to him, “Why do you call Me good? No one is good except God alone

I just heard a speaker talk about a “Good Atheist” and a “Good Christian” at my last Bible study.  The context was that they both agree that Christianity rides or falls based on the resurrection.  Which is true, but it made me think.  Is there such a thing as a “Good Atheist”?  Which led me to think, is there such a thing as a “Good Christian”?  I asked that to my group and somebodies reply was something like “What is your standard of good?”.  What is our standard of good or better yet who is?

I believe that our standard is God.  That is what Jesus is said in the verse above.  By that standard I do not believe anyone is good.  I know I am not.  I am a dirty rotten sinner, deserving eternal punishment.  There is no such thing in God’s book as “good enough”.  God does not grade on a curve.  The Bible says that ALL have fallen short of God’s glory.  None of us measure up to Him.  My only hope is the goodness of God.  Your only hope is the goodness of God.

Jesus came and died for our sins.  His blood paid the penalty of our sins.  He died in our place, that we might live.  That we might be forgiven.  It costs us nothing, but it cost Him His life.  His offer of forgiveness is a free gift, we just need to accept it.  When we do, God looks at us and applies Christ’s life to ours.  His righteousness becomes our righteousness.  This is the only way for us to be considered good and it is all God’s doing, not mine nor yours.  Thanks be to God!

Leave a Reply

