Wait Patiently

Psalm 40:1 I waited patiently for the LORD; And He inclined to me and heard my cry.

I do not know about you but waiting patiently is something I can really struggle with at times.  I think am getting better at it as I get older, but I still have my struggles with it.  I want things right away.  I want to be through the tough times,right now.  I want God to immediately provide an answer to my prayers.  I do not mind persevering, as long as it only last 5 minutes.  A lack of patience shows a lack of faith in God.

Sometimes it is hard to wait on the Lord.  Saul was waiting for Samuel one time (1 Samuel 13) as Israel was preparing for war.  He waited a week for the day Samuel said he would come, but failed to wait for him.  How many times do we wait for God and then give up right before God is going to act?  We need to wait patiently for Him, as hard as it seems at time.  How many blessings have I missed out on, because I failed to wait on God?  Wait on Him.  And as you wait on Him, cry out to Him.  Be in constant prayer, never ceasing.  Do not lose hope, God will answer you.

Patience is one of the fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5).  It is one of the key ones, because the more patient we are the more the other fruit grow and develop..  When we are patient, we are kind.  When we are patient we are loving.  When we are patient we are at peace.  When we are patient we have self-control.  The more patient we are, the more gentle we are.

Dear Jesus, help us to patient.  Help us to patiently wait for you.  Develop and grow this fruit in us.  Help us not to give up hope and remain trusting in you.  Thank you for your faithfulness.  Thank you for hearing us when we pray.  Thank you for loving me, even when I am unlovable.  Thank you for being patient with me.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

