Life is brief

Psalm 39:4-5
4 “LORD, make me to know my end And what is the extent of my days; Let me know how transient I am. 5 “Behold, You have made my days as handbreadths, And my lifetime as nothing in Your sight; Surely every man at his best is a mere breath.

Our lives are short.  When you exhale on a cold day, you can see your breath.  It lasts but for a moment and then it is gone.  Our lives are the same.  We are here but just for a short time and then our time is up.  The longer I live the faster time goes.  We need to cherish each moment and do not waste it.

Each moment we have with loved ones, should be taken advantage of.  None of us are promised tomorrow.  Death can come quickly before we know it.  Now is the time to make sure we right before God.  Now is the time to make sure our loved ones know about Jesus.  Now is the time to teach our kids about Jesus.  Do not put it off.

I recently heard about man, who on a Friday had a seizure and had to be rushed to the hospital.  After running some tests they found he hand a tumor in his brain.  By the following Tuesday, he was dead.  The end come quickly, but if we know Jesus, the end is only the beginning!

Lord, help me to be urgent in telling others about you.  Another day is not promised to us, so we do not know when our end or their end will come.  Help us not to waste chances to tell others about you.  Help us to be bold witnesses for you.  Help us love others the way that you love us.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

