Giving

Acts 3:6 But Peter said, “I do not possess silver and gold, but what I do have I give to you

As I worshiped in church today, God brought this verse to mind.  I fit with the first part of the verse.  I do not have a lot of money to give to others and its hard some times hearing about worthy causes and not be able to give.  However, I believe God is saying through Peter, that we have more to give than just money.  He has blessed us with gifts and talents, with which we can give to others.  He has given us eyes to see needs in others lives.  He has given us ears to hear the needs of others.  We just to be willing to give ourselves to others.

Here is an example to illustrate this.  Yesterday I was coming home from the grocery store.  I saw an elderly neighbor walking out with his cane to get his garbage cans.  After parking my van I went over and helped him.  It is as easy as that.  But before you think I bragging, let me tell the rest of the story.  This man lives with his daughter-in-law and teenage granddaughters.  They have other kids over all of the time.  My first thought was how horrible that the kids were not out there doing it.  Then God smacked me upside the head and said “Why don’t you help him?”  My first reaction was to criticize and not help.

I’ve been thinking about this and I have come to this collusion.  When we see a need and are quick to think “Why is so and so not helping?”, that God is telling us to help them.  We easily see the needs of others, but we are not quick to see us providing the simple solution to the need.  If God is showing us the need then God will enable us to solve the need.

Peter and John saw the beggar.  They saw his need.  Peter said that he could not give him money, but he something better to give him.  He healed them.  We do not have the ability to heal somebody, but we do have the ability to give them what God has given us.  Whatever that may be.  It is time we got back to serving our neighbor and looking for ways to help them.  We, as Christians, need to show the love of God to others.

#WhatIHaveIGive #Serve #LoveYourNeighbor #SeeANeedDoSomething

Leave a Reply

