Learn From God

Psalm 25:4-5
4 Make me know Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths. 5 Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; For You I wait all the day.

David pleads for God’s help in knowing God’s ways.  We need to do this as well.  God’s wisdom is off the charts compared to man’s.  There is no comparison.  We need His help in discerning what is right and walking with Him the right way.  We need His grace, for we cannot walk with God on our own.  David asks 3 different ways for this and we will take brief look at each.

First, He asks God to “Make me know Your ways”.  David wants to know God’s ways but realizes He cannot without God’s help and leading.  As a shepherd, David knew that sometimes he had to make or force the sheep to do something.  In Psalm 23:2, He says that God “makes him lie down in green pastures”.  David wants God to make him do the things that are best for him.

Second, He asks twice for God to “Teach me”.  If God is the wisest of all, then no one is better to learn from than God.  David asks God to teach him the paths of God, to teach him about the salvation of God, and to teach him patience and how to wait on God.  We all need to learn these and much more from God.  We need to spend time in His Word daily and in prayer seeking the wisdom of God.  This is something I know I do not do enough of.  Teach me O Lord to follow you better!  Teach me O Lord to know you and your character better!  Teach me to be patient and wait for you and your faithfulness!

Lastly, David asks God to “Lead me in Your truth”.  So much of what mankind is today is a lie.  We seek our own truth, rather than the Truth of God.  We exchange God’s Truth for a lie (Romans 1:25).  David does not what to follow a lie.  He wants to follow the true God.  We needs God’s leading, which gives us wisdom.  We need to be patient and humble and let God lead us.  Petra had a song back in the day, which talked about this.  It was called Minefield and the chorus went like this:

It’s a mine field – you’d better follow Him through
God knows the way – you’d better stick like glue
It’s a mine field – better stay on His heels
’cause the enemy kills and the enemy steals
So keep your head down and keep you eyes peeled
’cause life is…
Life is a mine field

When we stop following God, bad things can happen.  He knows the right way, so follow Him!

Make me, Teach Me, Lead Me O Lord!  I need you, every moment of every day!

Leave a Reply

