Love & Humility

1 Corinthians 16:14 Let all that you do be done in love.

Even though the word humility is not found in this verse, it’s there.  To do everything in love, means a lot of the time I need to deny myself.  I need to put others before myself.  Just now, I put my daughter to bed in tears, because I snapped at her for not washing her hands fast enough.  After reading this verse, I knew I needed to go apologize and make things right.  My actions which made her cry, were not out of love, but out of my own selfishness.  My action to say I was sorry to her, was out of my love for her and wanting her to know how much I  love her.

When we put the needs of others before our own, we show them love.  Jesus showed His love for us, when He denied Himself the glory He deserved in heaven and came to earth, born in manger.  He denied Himself and laid down His life to pay the penalty for our sins.  We need to do things in love, as Christ did for us.

One thought on “Love & Humility

Leave a Reply

